Quantcast
How Photographers Captured the Biggest Full Moon in 70 Years

We won't see anything like it again until 2034.

 

A photo posted by Stephanie Vella (@steph_vella) on


Early this morning, astrophotographers got their closest look at the moon in 70 years, and the internet won't stop talking about it. The so-called "supermoon" is a flashy name for any full moon in October, November, and December, when its elliptical orbit takes it closest to Earth, but this one was special because it was the closest it's been since 1948. Since it's such a special event, the world's tireless amateur photographers were pointing their crappy smartphone cameras toward the sky when it peaked at 8:52 AM EST today. Since then, we've sifted through at least one zillion photos from Facebook and Instagram to find legitimately beautiful images of the celestial phenomenon taken by pros and talented enthusiasts all over the world. From Rio de Janeiro to Bangkok to New York City, here's the supermoon in rare form the likes of which we won't see again until 2034.

New York City

 

A photo posted by JJ (@jj.bowen) on

 

A photo posted by Gary Hershorn (@garyhershorn) on

 

A photo posted by Mike Chiodo (@mikiodo) on

 

A photo posted by @wtz_worldtimezone on


San Francisco
 

 

A photo posted by cindy ragin de pena (@crdep) on

 

A photo posted by Evan Sabogal (@sabosabe) on

 

A photo posted by Della (@dellybean) on

 

A photo posted by David Yu (@davidyuweb) on


Sydney
 


Washington D.C.
 

 

A photo posted by Rusty (@joe_baggadonuts) on


Orange County
 


Oklahoma
 

 

A photo posted by Jon Dallis (@jondallis) on


Joshua Tree
 

 

A photo posted by Meg Ross (@lawyermeg) on


Yosemite National Park

 

A photo posted by Johnny Allende (@johnnys_shots) on


Yellowstone National Park
 


Colorado
 


San Diego
 

 

A photo posted by GrigoryFoto (@grigory_foto) on


Los Angeles
 

 

A photo posted by Los Angeles (@cole_younger_) on


St. Louis

 

A photo posted by ABC News (@abcnews) on


Dallas
 

 

A photo posted by Erika (@eldel11) on


Rio de Janeiro
 


Lieto, Italy
 

 

A photo posted by Timo Oksanen (@timoksanen) on


Tokyo
 


Okayama, Japan
 

 

A photo posted by Yuki (@ri_ri_ri_3) on


Bangkok
 

 

A photo posted by 핌 핌 (@pimpim.97) on


Dubai
 

Doha, Qatar

 

A photo posted by Marco G. (@iamguzmanmarco) on


Shanghai
 

 

A photo posted by Yama Qayoumi (@yamaqayoumi) on


Beijing
 

 

A photo posted by Nea (@nea8206) on

 

A photo posted by Fang (@buptshao) on

 

A photo posted by Lust for life (@moonil_nam) on


Hong Kong
 

 

A photo posted by anita heung (@anitaheung031064) on

 

A photo posted by James Sybarite (@james.sybarite) on


London
 

 

A photo posted by @LONDON (@london) on


Baikonur Cosmodrome, Russia
 


Oman
 


Sabah, Malaysia
 

 

A photo posted by Media Johor (@mediajohor) on


Athens
 


Bad Berka, Germany
 


Arizona
 

 

A photo posted by Mircea Goia (@mirceagoia) on

 

A photo posted by Mircea Goia (@mirceagoia) on


Montreal
 

 

A photo posted by Mike Hitelman (@instamikeagram) on


While it peaked this morning, the supermoon will still be huge tonight. Tag us in your best supermoon photos on Instagram at @Creators_Project, and if they're good we'll add them to this post.

Related:

It's the Moon, and It's in Your Room

Insta's Sickest Blood Moon Photos from Around the World

A Perfect 1:20,000,000 Scale Model of the Moon