Quantcast
17 Artists, Presses, and Publishers to Know at the NY Art Book Fair

Print's not dead, it’s just getting more creative.

People say print is dead. People say no one buys books. People say no one reads. Well, whoever these “people” are, they haven't been to the New York Art Book Fair. Put on by Printed Matter Inc, a non-profit bookstore and gallery, the fair is in its tenth year running, and expanding each year. Held at MoMA PS1 in Long Island City and housing over 370 booksellers from around the world, NYABF expects over 35,000 visitors in one weekend, making us reconsider the once-doomed future of print publications. The thing is, the book fair and more than just books, it’s a visual, cultural, musical, literary and artistic gathering. With everything from 8-Ball Zines' plethora of young artist talent (zines of note include 8-Ball's artist boxed sets and Jo Rosenthal's Ode to Those I've Kissed), to a dome full of small press publishers like Social Malpractice Publishing, to limited edition prints, the fair is free to attend and surprisingly affordable if you're looking to invest in a good art book, support your favorite artists, or just upgrade your art swag.

Keep up on the art book game during the fair and all year long by following some of the NY Art Book Fair’s most intriguing artists, publishers and presses on Instagram as they prove that print is alive, well, and even thriving:

Printed Matter

 

Hamburger Eyes

 

A photo posted by HAMBURGER EYES (@hamburger_eyes) on

Deadbeat Club

 

A photo posted by Deadbeat Club (@deadbeatclub) on

Ditto Press

 

 

A photo posted by Ditto Press (@dittopress) on

Killer Acid

 

A photo posted by Killer Acid (@killeracid) on

 

Bruce High Quality Foundation

 

A photo posted by BHQFU (@brucehighquality) on

 

Marilyn Rondón of DatAssZine

 

A photo posted by Marilyn Rondón (@calientechica) on

 

Heather Benjamin

 

A photo posted by Marilyn Rondón (@calientechica) on

Badlands Unlimited

 

A photo posted by Badlands Unlimited (@badlandsunlmtd) on

Harper’s Books

 

A photo posted by Harper's Books (@harpersbooks) on

Genieve Figgis in collaboration with Donald Cumming on view at Half Gallery

 

A photo posted by EXHIBITION A (@exhibitiona) on

 

Daniel Heidkamp on view at Half Gallery

 

A photo posted by Daniel Heidkamp (@danielheidkamp) on

Marilyn Minter on view at Gregory R Miller & Co

 

A photo posted by Marilyn Minter (@marilynminter) on

 

The Thing Quarterly

 

Triangle Books

 

A photo posted by Triangle Books (@trianglebooks) on

 

Bemojake Publishing

 

A photo posted by Bemojake (@bemojake) on

 

Guerrilla Girls

 

A photo posted by Guerrilla Girls (@guerrillagirls) on

 

For more information about the New York Art Book Fair, visit the official website.

Related:

10 Bushwick Artists You Need to Follow on Instagram

10 Artists to Know from America's First Ever Internet Flea Market

12 Street Artists You Need to Follow on Instagram